Angie’s List

2012 Reviews

 2012 REVIEWS

This review wasn’t submitted by an Angie’s List member. Non-member reviews don’t factor in to recent or overall grades. More…
Review Date: December 17, 2012
Member: Brian Crawford
3013 Spruceview Ct
Columbus, OH 43231
Categories: Gutter Repair & Replacement, Roofing, Siding
Services Performed: Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: November 05, 2012
Hire Again: Yes
Approximate Cost: $18,000.00
Description Of Work: Removed and Installed Siding: Entire Home
Removed and replaced a downspout.
Repaired the roof as per Insurance Adjuster assessment.
Contacted my Insurance company to have a 2nd assesment of the prescribed repair.
Removed and replaced/upgraded my entire roof * See Below
Member Comments: My home sustained serious damage on June 28th when a violent storm ripped through central Ohio. It was the storm that left most of us without power for around 5 days.
My roof had a large portion of shingles ripped off and many others had broken their seal and would flap when the wind blew. My siding was damaged by hail on 2 sides of my home. Two of my shutters blew off along with damaging a downspout. I had a tree destroyed that blocked my driveway with branches touching my car. After contacting my insurance company I knew I had to choose a contractor that had experience dealing with storm damage because they said removing the tree would not be covered. It was at that point I came to the realization that although I am a highly skilled professional this is not my field. I needed an expert that would handle everything and just keep me in the loop.
I chose A.I.S Renovations LTD, Bob Turman was my Claims Specialist, and to quote Al Pachino in The Recuit, “I am a scary judge of talent”. They are simply the best, hands down. There were other homes damaged on my street and thoughout the neighborhood that got repaired by other companies. There is no comparison. Nobody will do it better or faster. My entire roof was tore off and replaced in around 3 1/2 hours without a single nail being left in my lawn. Tearing off my stubborn aluminum siding and installing house wrap along with vinyl siding on my 2 story home took 9 hours. The materials they use are the best you can buy. My home looks brand new. I can’t say the same for my neighbors.
The real difference with A.I.S is their experience dealing with storm damage and handling the insurance claims. I know what I heard advertised by many companies but I am the only person in my neighborhood that I know of that had everything covered by the insurance company. I have the same insurance as some of my neighbors but their claims were denied. My claim was minimilized by the insurance adjuster but my experts took care of it. They know the law, the building codes, the materials and how to install them. A.I.S is the reason my home was repaired correctly. They fought for what I was entitled to, not for a hand out.
If you take anything away from reading this review, it should be that A.I.S Renovations Ltd is the contractor to chose if you want things done right and you need somebody to go to bat for you without having to supervise the whole process.

———————————————————————————————–

Review Date: December 16, 2012
Member: DANA LIMING
4919 Apple Glen Trl
Grove City, OH 43123
Categories: Gutter Repair & Replacement, Painting – Exterior, Roofing
Services Performed: Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: December 06, 2012
Last Modified Date: September 19, 2013
Hire Again: Yes
Approximate Cost: $4,000.00
Home Build Year: 1980
Description Of Work: We were in the process of closing on our house when the home inspection showed a need to replace the roof and repair facia board and gutter issues. With many high estimates and pushy contractors interviewed, AIS came through with a very reasonable cost and a fast and courteous response. Not only did they walk through the entire process with me, but actually took advantage of a small break in the rain for 4 days in a row to get it done. Parks personally promised me that he would see that the work was done in time for closing and not only managed the project but managed my stress over the last minute set back. Thank you AIS for the amazing service!
Member Comments: The project was done very quickly and very well. The buyer indicated that he had members of his family driving buy to check the progress and they were impressed by how quickly and professionally AIS did a complete tear off, replacement of some bad wood, and put a whole new roof on – all in 4 hours! They were amazing! They fixed issues with our gutters and facia board, including touching up the paint, while they were at it, and even cleaned the gutters while they had them down.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

———————————————————————————————

Review Date: December 16, 2012
Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A
Member:
DANA LIMING
2336 WARFIELD DR.
GROVE CITY, OH 43123
Categories:
Gutter Repair & Replacement
Roofing
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
December 06, 2012
Hire Again:
Yes
Home Build Year:
1980
Description Of Work:
We were in the process of closing on our house when the home inspection showed a need to replace the roof and repair facia board and gutter issues. With many high estimates and pushy contractors interviewed, AIS came through with a very reasonable cost and a fast and courteous response. Not only did they walk through the entire process with me, but actually took advantage of a small break in the rain for 4 days in a row to get it done. Parks personally promised me that he would see that the work was done in time for closing and not only managed the project but managed my stress over the last minute set back. Thank you AIS for the amazing service!
Member Comments:
The project was done very quickly and very well. The buyer indicated that he had members of his family driving buy to check the progress and they were impressed by how quickly and professionally AIS did a complete tear off, replacement of some bad wood, and put a whole new roof on – all in 4 hours! They were amazing! They fixed issues with our gutters and facia board, including touching up the paint, while they were at it, and even cleaned the gutters while they had them down.

——————————————————————————————————-

Review Date: December 03, 2012
Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Member:
THOMAS PASCHAL
1366 GILEAD CT.
GALLOWAY, OH 43119
Category:
Siding
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
June 20, 2012
Hire Again:
Yes
Description Of Work:
They did siding for my home.
Member Comments:
The work turned out very well. I would recommend them. They were fast and they followed up well. They did great work!

————————————————————————————————–

Review Date: December 03, 2012
Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Member:
Gary Collins
1550 Hocking Valley Place
LANCASTER, OH 43130
Category:
Roofing
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
February 01, 2012
Hire Again:
Yes
Member Comments:
A.I.S Renovations was canvasing our area and offered to check our roof for damage from recent wind storms. our insurance adjuster met them and performed a second inspection, verifying that we were in need of a total roofing replacement. There was a short delay as a result of the weather. When A.I.S. came to install the roof, it was accomplished in less than a day and the workmanship and follow through by them was very good, timely and complete. The job cost us nothing, AIS having covered our home owners deductable in exchange for placing their sign in our yard for 30 days.

—————————————————————————————————

Review Date: November 30, 2012
Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Member:
MICAH AND JOY METZGER
6609 ELM PARK
GALLOWAY, OH 43119
Categories:
Gutter Repair & Replacement
Roofing
Siding
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
November 06, 2008
Description Of Work:
They re-roofed our home due to storm damage.
Member Comments:
Re-roofed our home in one day. Everything was done professionally and courteously.

——————————————————————————————————–

Review Date: November 30, 2012
Overall A
Price B
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Member:
Rukhsana Akram
6071 Heritage VView Ct.
HILLIARD, OH 43026
Categories:
Remodeling – General
Water & Smoke Damage
Wells & Pumps
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
September 07, 2012
Hire Again:
Yes
Description Of Work:
They did some water restoration in our basement after it had flooded.
Member Comments:
The basement was flooded due to the sump pump being broken. They replaced the sump pump and did water restoration in our basement. They did an excellent job. They were very professional, timely and did what they said.

———————————————————————————————————–

Review Date: November 30, 2012
Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Member:
Jim Schaible
5460 Gunbarrel Rd
RUSHVILLE, OH 43150
Category:
Roofing
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
April 29, 2011
Hire Again:
Yes
Home Build Year:
1974
Description Of Work:
They put a new roof on my house.
Member Comments:
They did a very good job! They had great attention to detail and the workmanship itself was very good. They also did some painting and a few extra things that helped support the air flow for my shingles and roof. Specifically they added a ridge vent to my roof that helps circulate the air flow. The price was reasonable compared to other bids. They completed the roof in one day. They were also quite detailed in explaining procedures and the life of the roof, including the warranty and things of that nature.

——————————————————————————————————-

Review Date: October 15, 2012
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Member:
Sharon Cox
7419 Jackson Pike
State Route 104
Lockbourne, OH 43137
Category:
Roofing
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
May 05, 2011
Hire Again:
Yes
Home Build Year:
1991
Description Of Work:
On House and Garage
1. Inspection, estimate of job and scope of work discussed with us.
2. Explaination of insurance & job process discussed,.
3.Colors, styles were also selected along with installation procedures.
4. Roof & , damaged under layment removal and disposed of.
5. Leaks repaired around a huge unuasal skylight and other skylights and vents, chimney etc. completed.
6. Replacement of underlayment and shingels applied.
7. Crew arrived on time, worked at a pace that moved the job along nicely. Clean up, securement of supplies practiced daily.
8. Company inspections performed daily on job site.
9. Final inspection, clean up and search of nails or other hazards performed.
10.Sign off on completion of jobs.
Member Comments:
Our house and garage roof replacement was a huge under taking. Our house is 2 story, octagon shaped, 5000 sq feet & garage is 3000 sq ft. ,both with unusual skylights and angles with serious leaks to deal with. It needed over 90 squares of shingles and if the wrong inexperienced company started this huge job and didn’t know what they were doing it would be a disaster. We had other companies approach us for the job but had seen the results and the quality of work of AIS on other properties in the area and we gave them a call.

We didn’t know where to start, and expected to go through the hassle of insurance inspections, paperwork and lengthy phone calls, we both worked long hours couldn’t be pinned down waiting on inspectors, deliveries of supplies etc.. Mr Davis handle all the details so we weren’t hassled with any stressful situations, miss work or bothered about any suppliers. He checked on the job site himself to make sure there weren’t any problems, it all went so smooth. He truly was an insurance claim specialist.

We were provided samples to look at, but also the differences in shingles, wear and tear on a roof, trim, flashing , how seals hold and how each phase of the job would be handled was explained in detail to us before work began.( at a time that was convenient for us). The work crew showed up on time, worked professionally, cleaned job site daily & secured supplies before leaving. When the job was complete they searched 3 times for stray nails so there would be no chance of flat tires, to our vehicles, lawn mowers , toys or hazards to our family & pets.

We had such a great experience with the roof replacement and it improved our property. All our friends and neighbors comment on the difference it has made for curb appeal but the quality of work , damage repair and peace of mind has been priceless. We don’t have to worry how bad the weather will get….we are safe & happy under our new roof. We hired the company to do work on other property we own.

We would highly recommend AIS to others who need any home repair as well as roof replacement . We are willing to show others( with a AIS person) the quality job performed by this outstanding, premier renovation company. There’s reason their signs are all over the area. Overall A

————————————————————————————————–

Review Date: August 30, 2012
Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Member:
Steven Carter
3376 Kropp Rd
Grove City, OH 43123
Category:
Roofing
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Hire Again:
Yes
Home Build Year:
1990
Description Of Work:
My barn roof raised up during a big storm and I needed in screwed back down with holes fixed.
Member Comments:
They gave an estimate and came out the next day and fixed it. Great price and easy to deal with. Did a great job and said if I have any problems with that area they would come back. I will use them again for any roofing needs.

————————————————————————————————–

Review Date: January 14, 2012
Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness B
Punctuality B
Professionalism A

Member:
FRANCIS SHIPLEY
2583 MCDANIEL CT
GROVE CITY, OH 43123
Category:
Roofing
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
October 15, 2011
Hire Again:
Yes
Description Of Work:
Installed 18 square of roofing
Member Comments:
I became aware of the company because they had canvassed our neighborhood looking for storm damage. Their representative indicated that we had hail damage to our roof. I contacted our insurance company for confirmation and an evaluation. They did find hail damage but not on the whole roof. They were willing to pay for half of it. I did not want to try matching shingles so I had AIS do the whole roof. My impression of their representative was that he was very knowlegable about roofs and roofing matierals. He was also pleasant to deal with . Based on the cost of the roof when it was replaced 10 years ago, I felt that the price was very reasonable so I did not seek a second estmate. I did check Angies List and the BBB and concluded that the company was reputable.
The estimate was in September 2011 but weather delayed installation until October. The roof was installed shortly after it was delivered and was basically completed in one day. There was not a bit of trash, nails, or other residue to be found after they left. I was pleased with the job and the clean-up. A complete description of materials was left with me. The only shortcoming was communicating to me that I had to go online and register with the manufacturer for the warranty. I discovered that by reading through the materials.
I would not hesitate to use the company again and plan to do so in the spring. (I inquired of them about a solution for a metal chimney surround and the representative described a process they use.)

—————————————————————————————————–

Review Date: June 11, 2011
Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Member:
JASON PLUMLEY
5544 SHERRICK DRIVE
CANAL WINCHESTER, OH 43110
Categories:
Remodeling – General
Roofing
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
May 31, 2011
Hire Again:
Yes
Description Of Work:
Our roof was damaged by windstorms AIS did a free inspection. They found extensive damage. However, I know that they told a couple of my neighbors that their roof was fine. So I do believe they are honest.
Member Comments:
They put hurricane grade shingles on our roof. It will take up to 160 mph winds. When the roof was replaced they put a tarp down and there was no mess or rails after they left. I would highly recommend this company to anyone.

I did not pay our deductible because we are keeping their sign in our yard for 60 days.